I have not had a chance to recap Matthew 6 due to the fact I have still been trying to digest Matthew 5! Matthew 5 kicked my butt, EVEN TODAY. I have 1 person in my life who just drives me crazy. I don’t even know if they know how crazy they drive me but let me tell you, this person is helping to form and develop my freaking character. I got upset this morning due to this person and when I read Chapter 7, it convicted me about how I am dealing with mystery person “x”. UGH! Okay here are my notes from Chapter 6, the next post will be notes on Chapter 7:

 

JESUS IS SPEAKING IN THESE QUOTES:

 

  1. 1.     “When you do something for someone else, don’t call attention to yourself.” 6:2
  2. 2.     Pray with simplicity. This provided so much freedom for me because I sometimes feel my prayers are not good enough since I am not a marathon prayer warrior. I am more like a sprinter, short, fast, and deliberate. These following verses really helped me with this…
  3. 3.     “And when you come before God, don’t turn that into a theatrical production…” 6:5
  4. 4.     KEEP YOUR PRAYER SIMPLE – “Here’s what I want you to do. Find a  quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can imagine.” 6:8
  5. 5.     “The world is full of so called payer warriors who are prayer ignorant. They’re of formulas and programs and advice, peddling techniques for getting what you want from God.”  6:7-9
  6. 6.     “In prayer there is a connection between what God does and what you do.” 6:14
  7. 7.     Stay humble and quite. Be who you are, which is who God created you to be. “God does not require attention getting devices.” 6:18
  8. 8.     I love the next section about how God has created our eyes to be a looking glass into our soul. 6:21-23
  9. 9.     If you are going to live a life of worship you have to avoid the temptation to complain. For those of us who tend to be sarcastic this is very difficult.
  10. 10.  God is trying to get us less preoccupied on GETTING and more concerned with giving.
  11. 11.  “Steep your life in  God reality, God initiative, and God provisions. “ 6:32
  12. 12.  “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.” 6:34

 

FREEDOM! 

